Menu

Nectar Mattress Review (Updated for 2019) Comments

Updated September 27, 2019

Our Rating

Read Review

Our Rating
53 Comments
D.M.

Horrible mattress!! Felt ok 1st month.Then like quicksand or mudslide. Then started waking up with numbness in calves and feet. It was cutting off circulation. It is finally out on curb. And we have mattress that isn’t made of memory foam. And we can sleep.

Sky

Buyers beware I receive my box completely beat up the mattress is exposed I’m trying to return it there doing everything but returning it. I’m going to have to find the address pay for the return myself and call Amax to have it taken off my bill. Nice customer service

Tere Hidalgo

Wow. This is an awesome mattress. I am in dire need of a new mattress. Just had my 65th Birthday and thought my kids could chip in and get me one, but the couldn’t. Thanks for this opportunity.

Bobbie Siewert

[email protected] I need to get a better night’s sleep and a new mattress can make a big difference.

Bobbie Siewert

[email protected] Everyone should get a new mattress every 7 years.

Pamela Gard

Excellent quality and design. I would love to sleep on nay of these high quality mattresses! Thank you for the opportunity!

Marlene burkett

a new mattress would be a dream

Roberto

My recommendation please be sure when buying this product is not for everybody the return process is a joke a pain in the ass they told me in order to return my money I had to donate the mattress to a charity well nobody wants a used MATTRESS only one place said yes but I have to pay $50 for them to have it pick up and cleaned I end up keeping this piece of crap. Hassle free returns I dont think so.

Justin

Mattress: 3~4 stars
Customer Service: Rude to Friendly. Actual service? Poor.

About a couple of weeks now since I’ve been sleeping on the nectar mattress. So far, the experience is fine. But service.. I had two same mattresses came by accident, that’s where it all started. Took forever to be connected to a customer service rep. Chat, waited for hours, never got connected. Phone, after an hour, finally got one. He hung up on me. Called in again, after waiting for about another half an hour, got connected. He was friendly. But took also forever to get things straightened out. The refund, I had to contact again after a week went by from when the mattress arrived to their facility. And it will take another week or so to be reflected on my account. Oh well.
And one of the other mattresses I ordered had a rip, must’ve got punctured in transit. The same rep said “we’ll send out the new cover for the mattress right away!” …apparently didn’t send out for another few days. A different rep responded after a few days saying “I’ll get this sent out right away!” Hold on.. I was told “right away!” a few days ago. And they are not sending it in expedited shipping after all this.

John H

My wife and I have had our Nectar queen mattress for two weeks. The mattress is much firmer than we anticipate and we still are experiencing offgas order. From your experience will the mattress soften up a bit overtime and if so how long will it take? Same question with the Offgases, how long does it normally take them to go away ?

Jack Schneider

Beware the “100%” refund policy. It is deceptive and misleading. My wife did not care for the memory foam experience, and when I “returned” the mattress via their donation connection with Salvation Army, I found the “discount coupon” had been deducted from my refund. Even though we like and kept the flexible foundation [over half the total purchase price of the set], the “discount coupon” was tagged totally against our mattress return. Out $250 in spite of the “100 days trial period, 100% return.” Nowhere on their website nor in conversation with customer service prior to purchase was this made apparent. When I discussed this afterward with customer service, the person simply kept repeating, “You received your 100% refund.”

Replies

Roberto

I end up keeping this mattress shit they told me in order to get my refund I had to donate to a charity well nobody wants a used MATTRESS one said yes but I have to pay $50 to have it pick up be careful when buying this crap and it’s real firm back hurts sore feet I would not recommend this product.

Kevin Mountain

It is the worse mattress I have ever had. My back is always sore and was never an issue before. I tried to return the mattress and their support team guessed it was WAY TOO HARD before I even told them why I was returning it. It’s like sleeping on bricks. They are ignoring my request to return the brick instead they keep trying to sell me a mattress pad.

Doing some research Nectar blicks or removes negative reviews but they know the mattress is junk. Do not waste your money and they will NOT let you return it, the warranty they promise isn’t real.

Lisa Fioretto

I purchased this mattress but we feel it’s alittle to firm what can we do about it?

Replies

Vic

I just purchased this mattress a week ago. I am pleased I weigh 200 and it is very comfortable for me, but I can see it being uncomfortable for someone who is on the thin side. When I first laid down I didn’t understand it being on the firm side because it felt as if I sunk in and it was soft but as I laid there I began to understand the “firmness”. I heard complaints about the smell but honestly there was no smell at all with my mattress and it got to size within a few hours, though it says 11 inches mine is not 11 inches its about 9 1/2. I am very pleased it was well worth the money. It was delivered in 7 business days which was also nice since I was hearing complaints about slow delivery. I would definitely recommend this for people of weight.

Billy Knoth

Ordered a Nectar mattress a week ago and it still has not shipped. More transparency would be wonderful. Hopefully the mattress arrives by Tuesday which will be 10 days. If not, I will be updating this forum and I will be even more disappointed.

Robert Berger

We got our first King Nectar Mattress and it did not expand fully, especially at the top and bottom (Only 8″ at the bottom and 10″ max anywhere else). Nectar promptly sent another one. It did expand fully within a few hours.

But we’re finding it way too soft. I was surprised since most of the complaints have been that its too firm. But we both sink into it enough that it’s a bit tough to move around. And my wife’s back is hurting. She’s threatening to sleep on the floor tonite. Its been about a month since we have been sleeping on the properly expanded one.

I am about to contact Nectar to see what they have to say.

Replies

Jess RJ

Sorry to hear you’re having a negative experience. We’d love to hear how this issue is resolved.

John B

My wife and I tried Nectar for just over 30 days. We retuned it. I’m not one to write negative reviews, but feel this one is important. We felt the Nectar mattress outgassed far too long and far too much. While it started out as feeling comfortable, it quickly became less so and the motion transfer was noticeable after 3 weeks. It sagged and felt like it was hard to roll over within a two weeks. The cancellation and return process was terrible. It took over a month and I just now am getting my refund. While the idea of donating your mattress sounds good, it is not so easy as nearly zero charities want the liability. For us, giving away a king mattress was not easy. Nectar both questioned why (not cool when you claim no questions asked) and did not provide the option of having the mattress (which is very heavy) picked up until 4 emails into what became a overly complicated process of having to take pictures and fill out forms as well as having my new mattress company sign the form. I’m completely unhappy with my Nectar experience. If you had a star rating it would be a 1 or 2.

Randy allen

We received a king size mattress on August 30,2018.on sept1,we opened it and have let it do it’s thing,it has been 72hours like they say to let it fully expand the mattress has not fully expanded where we lay our heads and feet,so we’d be sleeping very uncomfortably with our necks!! Not happy and the smell from the off gassing is horrible and has not subsided at all it’s in a very ventilated room we would like some answers as to why these issues have not resolved yet, we paid almost 900$ and want answers ,please respond back to us nectar because it will be going back to your company if you cannot fix this problem!!

Replies

Jess RJ

Did you ever hear back from Nectar?

George

I ordered a mattress on 8/4/18 and it still hasn’t shipped. The only company initiated communication was my order confirmation on August 4th. It has taken numerous Emails to get a response, and they never answer the question of when is my mattress going to ship. You can reach someone on chat, but all they do is tell you a lie. 3 “absolute” ship dates have come and gone. They grab your money right upfront, however they don’t tell you they have no stock. Instead of living up to their website advertising, “order today delivery in 2-5 business days,” they deceive you and then provide you with no information. The latest chat lie for me is that my mattress will ship on 9/7/18, 49 days after it was ordered and they were paid. Don’t believe any of the Nectar website reviews, there is no way to even leave a review. Those are bogus, which explains all the 5 star reviews. This company operates like a scam, and what passes for customer service is pathetic.

George

I ordered a mattress on 8/4/18, the website said “order today delivery in 2-5 business days.” 26 days later and I have no idea if this will ever ship. Other than an order confirmation there has been no company initiated communication about my order. They grabbed my money immediately and never indicated it was out of stock and they had no idea when it would ship despite the 2-5 business day delivery advertising on the website. Instead, after multiple Email attempts and using their chat feature, 3 supposedly absolute ship dates came and went. Plain and simple, they lie. There is no way to leave a review on their website, so where are all those reviews coming from? You know, all those 5 star reviews? The only explanation is they are bogus. Be careful, this company has been a scam.

Replies

GEORGE

First off, other than the confirmation Email, Nectar has NEVER reached out to me with any information or status updates. You have to initiate the contact, and they are very slow to respond. Numerous times they told me my mattress would ship on 9/7, then it became 9/7-9/13, and now it is not before 9/20. Nectar clearly doesn’t have a clue, and they are not even remotely honest about it. I have been given so many ship dates its laughable. Nectar deserves to be sued. If I am lucky maybe it will arrive in time for Christmas.

Diana

What about using an adjustable base?

Steve C

You definitely need to say something about their incredibly SLOW ship times. It took 6 weeks to get the two I ordered. Very cheaply made. Was breaking down significantly after a month. Slept VERY hot, and had a very distinct foam/chemical smell. When we decided to return them, the nightmare continued. Took weeks to get them to pick them up and issue a refund. If it sounds too good to be true at this price, it’s because it is.

Replies

Tim Q

Exact opposite experience from SC. Received ours in 5 days (MN). No off-gassing, but it is on the (close to very IMO) firm side, so we will be returning. Customer service pre-purchase was top notch.

JessieJ

Jeesh Wish I would have saw this review before I bought mine. It’s like sleeping on a board for me. I was so excited I thought this would be the bed of my dreams. So disappointed.

Tom Mills

I am extremely impressed with the quality of this review. As engineer, I was pleased with the way you quantify your tests, for example with the firmness test and the thermal imaging. Thank you, i hope to see more of your reviews.

Mike

I purchased a Cal King but unfortunately, I am returning it due to it being way to firm. I am 5’10” 180 pounds. When I laid on it, I seriously thought I was laying on a piece of plywood. It is definitely a quality built mattress there is no doubt about that and has a very lucrative price point. However, if you are looking for that mattress that you fall into and it swallows you up and feels plush do not buy this. If you like firm then this is the mattress for you! I personally feel the firmness rating should be higher than a 7 more like a 9 to 10.

Liz Carey

too firm for me. laid awake on it….

Cathy Fields

Just wanted to caution you before you buy a Nectar. The first one I ordered did not fully expand. The middle expanded to 6″ but the head and foot expanded to 9″. I notified Nectar and they sent another. This one, after 3 weeks still has not expanded fully. It looks like a hammock. I am currently trying to get my money back but very little progress. Good luck if you buy.

Sue Strosky

I ordered the Nectar and it’s much too firm for me. I weigh 150 Lbs. I can’t seem to find a review that offers a medium to medium soft firmness. Can you help?!

Amy Nuckols

I just ordered a twin bed to see if i can sleep on it, if i can, i will order a larger size. Thank you for your review, it was very helpful. I’m one of those people that have pressure points on shoulders, hips and knees and hoping this mattress gets me back into a bed. will update .

PainMkr

Thank you for this in depth, honest review.

Replies

mike hohmann

If you like Firm then this is the mattress for you. I posted a review of my experience on here and they didn’t approve it. So I I am guessing they don’t want honest feedback from people that have actually tried the product. I am sure they are compensated for swaying their opinions to favor the companies they review.

Replies

Lynne Sciandro

What was your review? My husband and I are not small people and he has a bad back. We have been mattress shopping for almost a year. We have tried all the Saatva and Loom and Leaf and none of them were comfortable for him. Please let me know what you honestly thought of this mattress

Sharon Gibson

Greatly appreciate the in depth review.

Replies

Cathy

Sharon, just wanted to caution you before you buy a Nectar. The first one I ordered did not fully expand. The middle expanded to 6″ but the head and foot expanded to 9″. I notified Nectar and they sent another. This one, after 3 weeks still has not expanded fully. It looks like a hammock. I am currently trying to get my money back but very little progress. Good luck if you buy.

Larry

I ordered my queen-size nectar mattress last Sunday (2/25/18) and was told it would arrive the following Friday and it did. I couldn’t be happier with the tracking system that always kept me apprised of its journey to my house. In five days (3/2/18) it was on my front porch. Perhaps there weresome delivery problems in the past , but if I’m any example, Nectar has fine-tuned it’s delivery system and the glitches have been resolved.

Unpacking the mattress was a breeze and it was bed-ready on top of my box spring in ten minutes.

I have never had a better mattress than this one!

mae dea

Well, Nectar has me in a tight spot. They only allow positive comments on their website so I have little recourse as a consumer. Lots about their long delivery times and poor customer service on various you tube type sites.

Mattress arrived a few weeks after ordering. Just in time for out of town house guests. It turned out to be defective with large concave depression in the center. Took 24 hours for customer service to respond to my emails and calls. When they did respond, they had me jumping through hoops and kept changing the hoops. For example, they wanted four pictures of the defect and one of the label. Then they asked me to get a ruler and show the indentation. I don’t have a rigid six foot ruler to do that. Also, I am a 73 y.o. grama and not that tech savvy so getting pix from my phone to Nectar email not that easy.So I’m stuck!!!! Very unhappy with Nectar and have asked my credit card company to start dispute of charges process. Now I should send my house guests to hotel???? Big savings!

Kristi McDaniel

I received my Nectar mattress 9 days ago and it has HEAVY off gassing. I have it well ventilated and the odor has dissipated some, but he mattress still has a strong odor. Because of this I am unable to test the bed for comfort. I was told to wait another week. I have read MANY reviews and NONE of them mention how bad the off gassing is, I am truly disappointed. I haven’t had a bed to sleep on since Novembers 29th. Any suggestions?

Replies

Sarah J

I am dealing with the same issue! Im at week six and still have the musty heavy odor. Im trying baking soda and frequent washing of my bedding. The customer service line for Nectar had no added advice. I dont want to return it because I sleep so well but if it doesnt improve I will be returing my mattress.

Lori

I forgot to ask on last question. I wanted to understand specific measurements for a queen size mattress. Especially, the pocket size to buy sheets. Thank you for the dimensions.

Lori

Thank you for your review. I was wanting to look at exact dimensions, especially the pocket size to buy sheets. Can you please provide? Lori

Dave

The mattresses are good, but the shipping times are atrocious. It will take 30 days or more before they will ship, and then add 4 or 5 days for the shipping itself.

Replies

Radiah S

Well I ordered mines last Saturday and it says takes up to 3 business days to ship, a week later I am currently on hold now waiting to speak with someone about my order being shipped.

David Nolder

I ordered mattress just over 2 weeks ago and had mattress in my house in 4 days

Replies

Kim

Me too. I received mine in less than a week.

Carly Swan

Would this be too firm for a 250 lb single sleeper?
Also,does Nectar have a Canadian distributor?

Replies

Kim

It’s perfect for that weight. I’m approximately the same weight s you and I’m very pleased.

Replies

Jess RJ

So glad to help!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

0

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.