Menu

Nectar Mattress Review Comments

Updated June 16, 2020

Our Rating

Read Review

70 Comments
Faiyaz

Nectar mattress is worst. Do not waste your money. Trust me I bought one but I can’t sleep on it.

Olivia

I saw so many negative customer service reviews and was very hesitant to contact them but they were actually really great?? My partner thinks the mattress is too soft and wanted something firmer (im not picky I can sleep on anything) I contacted nectar for a return and they sent us a free firm mattress topper and told us if it was still an issues it would not affect our refund. Very very happy with this!

AGolding

What gets me is that Dreamcloud and Nectar are owned by the same company, “Resident” in San Francisco, CA.
Over a year ago I bought their Dreamcloud mattress and knew pretty quick it was on the hot side and just too hard for me…their customer service was nothing but nice, quick to respond, and after I had to arrange for the Salvation Army to donate the bed to, I received my money back. They were true to their claim of a customer being satisfied. I was thrilled and told them how impressed I was with their honesty.
Ended up buying a hundred dollar bed on Amazon that was harder than Dreamcloud and had to buy a topper for it. Fast forward a year and thought I would try again with getting a better mattress.
I was totally 100% conned by the advertising and reviews on the NECTAR website. Yep, this bed is also hard. I have sent several emails and getting the run around.
The sheet set arrived 3 weeks after the mattress and I did not open it. Troubled that on my Confirmation of the order, they listed a full size set would be sent, but, I ordered a Twin XL size mattress. So I emailed them to please send the full size. Never got a response.
One day AFTER receiving the wrong size set (by the way, th he return address is Dreamcloud, LLC with a Long Beach CA. address), I received a 2nd package (I did not open), from GBS Enterprises in Pooler, GA. Although I have not opened it, I am sure it is the full size set, as I have not ordered anything since the upsetting purchase of this NECTAR mattress.
I read something about the FTC demanding Resident answer their inquiry in 2019 and RESIDENT did not even bother to respond to the FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION?
You have got to be some pretty arrogant confident (or, cocky, rather), to blow off the agency who can and just might sue you for millions to help us, the lowly consumers who have been or will be or are going to be 100% ripped off by this company!
Please. Please file a letter, note, a tweet, a Facebook post; and get the word out about this powerfully. D E C E P T I V E
company whose only goal via at least their NECTAR product is to get your money and fight you as long as they can to not give your money back to you.
Told them in my email that I will contact the CALIF. Governor Newsome, the CALIF. Attorney General and the FTC.
If enough of us consumers voice what is going on, there will eventually be something done to stop this flagrant type of consumer FRAUD and we will be reimbursed for what they have taken from us illegally.

Meredith

Absolutely worst experience ever. Customer service spends weeks ignoring emails. Finally got a return approved, however they didn’t attach the community donation form (pretty sure it was intentional to drag this out further). DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY.

Bought a frame, mattress, cover, and got promo pillows. Literally everything arrived at least 1-2 weeks apart so even if you receive the mattress you will have nothing to place it on or cover it with up to 4 weeks before you receive everything.

You will contact customer service and get continual run around, primarily by NO response for ages.

The mattress was horribly hard from day one and never really improved but i had to suck it up and sleep on it for at least 30 days before i could return it. By the way they say there is a break in period…LIARS…i ended up buying a conventional/hybrid mattress with pillow topper (Stearns&Foster) and have loved every night on it since the the first night.

Based on the other reviews…which by the way i should have read more in depth before purchasing from this company as ALL of it is true…they are HORRIBLE as are their products), who knows what difficulty i will have to donate this horribly HARD mattress to retrieve any part of the funds put out.

Delays are their best tactic so be persistent. No matter what the outcome i will be reporting them to BBB and PA State Attorney General.

Ari

For those who have bought, or who are interested in buying an online-mattress, you should be aware of a scam being perpetrated by Nectar Sleep that is as clever as it is devious and fraudulent.

Nectar Sleep, as do all online mattress companies, offers a risk free trial period during which you can determine whether or not you like their mattresses. Their website advertises this as, “Our 100% Risk-Free 365-Night Home Trial”.

When you go to their website to purchase a mattress, they advertise a promotional offer of $499 of free accessories with every mattress purchase (sheets, pillows, mattress protectors). This appears to be a limited time offer, with a countdown timer on the site, but it’s been present for several months. It also is made to appear to be voluntary, something you must opt-in to, and they’re quite aggressive about you doing so, with multiple pop-ups and forced clicks to avoid. But even if you don’t click on the offer your check-out cart is pre-populated with these items. Beyond that, it is impossible to fully remove all of these items from your cart even if you wish to. You might think, how generous. They assign inflated, arbitrary values to these promotional items and inform you that you’ve saved $500 by getting these items for free. However, buried in the fine print of their terms and conditions is the following line, “Included promotional items are not eligible for return. Upon return of the mattress, the value of the included promotional items will be deducted from the total return amount.”

The scam works as follows: Nectar forces you to accept cheap, poor quality “promotional items” with your order, which they assign arbitrary and inflated values. When you then try to return your mattress during your trial period, they deduct that value and keep that money. Thus, there is never any way to get the full refund that is implicitly promised in their risk-free trial.

In the end, it is indeed a risk-free trial, but only for Nectar Sleep and not for the consumer. Either way, they will be pocketing $500 of your money, regardless of whether you like their mattresses or not.

Forewarned is forearmed.

Emily Joyce-Brady

Customer service is AWFUL. It is IMPOSSIBLE to get in touch with someone on the phone, I was waiting an hour and no one answered. I tried sending an email and no one has responded. I am now waiting to chat online and am “95th” in line, no one has time to wait that long. Feeling extremely frustrated and all I am trying to do is change my shipping address.

Emily Joyce-Brady

I have not yet received my mattress, will provide a review once I have. I do want to comment on their customer service though. It is IMPOSSIBLE to get in touch with a customer service representative. I was on hold for an hour and no one answered. I sent an email to the email address provided on their website and no one has responded. I am now waiting to chat with someone and am “95th” in line. No one has time to wait that long. Extremely frustrated, and all I am trying to do is update my shipping address!

michael

How can you rate a company 5 stars when there are laterally thousands of complaints? I do applaud you for allowing comments because I dont know if anyone noticed the public reviews are being censored. How does every single review result in 4 stars or better? I bought one of these from a retail store listed on their website as an authorized dealer. I can’t register the bed so I have basically a very expensive mattress that just a well be use because there is no warranty. Everyone here is correct if you cant contact the company…there is no warranty!

Patrick Rose

Don’t waste your money!!! I spent $1200 on foam that sinks in and top bottom end goes up when I’m on the bed.

Roxana Campos

DO NOT BUY PLEASE!! We ordered ours 3 weeks ago and it arrived yesterday without the pillows, the mattress protector and the sheets we ordered. We were so bummed and have left it expanding for 24 and it is still only 9 inches. Getting it was so hard, the refund will be a nightmare. Im so sad and disappointed and angry. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY WORST EXPERIENCE EVER

Julia

Horrible customer service. Order was made in error,I reached out immediately to try and cancel. Their phone service is suspended due to covid19 and they did not reply to my multiple emails. I spoke on the chat( had to wait half hour) and they did indeed “play dumb” to quote another review. My bank will be protecting us from full charges but what an awful experience with Nectar. I never write reviews, but I felt like I needed too.

Brett purtell

I would never recommend this company to anyone. Multiple phone calls and multiple emails and an ongoing issue for a month now has not been solved.

Placed order, mattress came in a timely manner. Allowed mattress to expand for a week, defective. Mattress had a date on it that it had been sealed since 12/2019… 5-6 months vacuum sealed, no wonder it didn’t expand correctly.

Called customer service. Waited 2 hours to get someone on the phone
This was after waiting over an hour on the online chat just for the customer service rep to disconnect on me.

Finally speak to someone, they made me jump through hoops sending all types of different photos.

Original mattress didn’t come with any warranty information like I’ve seen in unpacking videos, there was no blue duffle.

Fast forward to a few days ago now, replacement mattress comes in, terrible condition. Box looks like it’s been thrown through a woodcutter. I’m not opening this mattesss, I don’t want it. They need to take this back. They are now ignoring my emails on a daily basis and the chat online is playing dumb. I have emailed them photos of the way the box arrived.

They also send me the incorrect size sheets, they aren’t replacing them either.

Moral of the story, don’t waste your time with this company.

I’ll be calling the BBB as well as charging back through my bank, I’m not wasting anymore energy on them. They’re incompetent in every way shape and form.

Replies

Becky

Do you have their return address? I purchased a pillow from them. I didn’t like the texture and decided to return it the customer service has been awful. I wanted to just get their address for the return. Even though it says free trial and returns. Thought they would just shoot me an email with a return label. Really bad PR 😬

Andre

You better hope you enjoy your mattress, because it is nearly impossible to return a mattress or frame to nectar mattresses. They love to give you the run around.

sue

I have never in my life experienced such terrible customer service, they are deceitful and refuse to give your money back. I have 2mths of documented calls to try to get my money back for the frame that came broken and the mattress which I returned within 1 week…still no refund and no answers

D.M.

Horrible mattress!! Felt ok 1st month.Then like quicksand or mudslide. Then started waking up with numbness in calves and feet. It was cutting off circulation. It is finally out on curb. And we have mattress that isn’t made of memory foam. And we can sleep.

Replies

Jason

DO NOT BUY!!!!!! Nectar is a joke of a company. I have been waiting over 40 days for my mattress. Customer service dose not exists, you call or send emails but never get a reply back. I really wish I wouldn’t of bought this online. Better off going to a furniture store for a better result.

Sky

Buyers beware I receive my box completely beat up the mattress is exposed I’m trying to return it there doing everything but returning it. I’m going to have to find the address pay for the return myself and call Amax to have it taken off my bill. Nice customer service

Tere Hidalgo

Wow. This is an awesome mattress. I am in dire need of a new mattress. Just had my 65th Birthday and thought my kids could chip in and get me one, but the couldn’t. Thanks for this opportunity.

Bobbie Siewert

[email protected] I need to get a better night’s sleep and a new mattress can make a big difference.

Bobbie Siewert

[email protected] Everyone should get a new mattress every 7 years.

Pamela Gard

Excellent quality and design. I would love to sleep on nay of these high quality mattresses! Thank you for the opportunity!

Marlene burkett

a new mattress would be a dream

Roberto

My recommendation please be sure when buying this product is not for everybody the return process is a joke a pain in the ass they told me in order to return my money I had to donate the mattress to a charity well nobody wants a used MATTRESS only one place said yes but I have to pay $50 for them to have it pick up and cleaned I end up keeping this piece of crap. Hassle free returns I dont think so.

Justin

Mattress: 3~4 stars
Customer Service: Rude to Friendly. Actual service? Poor.

About a couple of weeks now since I’ve been sleeping on the nectar mattress. So far, the experience is fine. But service.. I had two same mattresses came by accident, that’s where it all started. Took forever to be connected to a customer service rep. Chat, waited for hours, never got connected. Phone, after an hour, finally got one. He hung up on me. Called in again, after waiting for about another half an hour, got connected. He was friendly. But took also forever to get things straightened out. The refund, I had to contact again after a week went by from when the mattress arrived to their facility. And it will take another week or so to be reflected on my account. Oh well.
And one of the other mattresses I ordered had a rip, must’ve got punctured in transit. The same rep said “we’ll send out the new cover for the mattress right away!” …apparently didn’t send out for another few days. A different rep responded after a few days saying “I’ll get this sent out right away!” Hold on.. I was told “right away!” a few days ago. And they are not sending it in expedited shipping after all this.

John H

My wife and I have had our Nectar queen mattress for two weeks. The mattress is much firmer than we anticipate and we still are experiencing offgas order. From your experience will the mattress soften up a bit overtime and if so how long will it take? Same question with the Offgases, how long does it normally take them to go away ?

Jack Schneider

Beware the “100%” refund policy. It is deceptive and misleading. My wife did not care for the memory foam experience, and when I “returned” the mattress via their donation connection with Salvation Army, I found the “discount coupon” had been deducted from my refund. Even though we like and kept the flexible foundation [over half the total purchase price of the set], the “discount coupon” was tagged totally against our mattress return. Out $250 in spite of the “100 days trial period, 100% return.” Nowhere on their website nor in conversation with customer service prior to purchase was this made apparent. When I discussed this afterward with customer service, the person simply kept repeating, “You received your 100% refund.”

Replies

Roberto

I end up keeping this mattress shit they told me in order to get my refund I had to donate to a charity well nobody wants a used MATTRESS one said yes but I have to pay $50 to have it pick up be careful when buying this crap and it’s real firm back hurts sore feet I would not recommend this product.

Kevin Mountain

It is the worse mattress I have ever had. My back is always sore and was never an issue before. I tried to return the mattress and their support team guessed it was WAY TOO HARD before I even told them why I was returning it. It’s like sleeping on bricks. They are ignoring my request to return the brick instead they keep trying to sell me a mattress pad.

Doing some research Nectar blicks or removes negative reviews but they know the mattress is junk. Do not waste your money and they will NOT let you return it, the warranty they promise isn’t real.

Replies

Phyllis Kvinsland

Exactly…. try even getting a mattress donated in the COVID CRISIS. Time to contact BBB and then the states poor business practices, a lawyer and whatever else. What s SHAM of a business let alone a mattress that is too hard to sleep on! How do they manage to even get in a top rated mattress recommendation?

Lisa Fioretto

I purchased this mattress but we feel it’s alittle to firm what can we do about it?

Replies

Vic

I just purchased this mattress a week ago. I am pleased I weigh 200 and it is very comfortable for me, but I can see it being uncomfortable for someone who is on the thin side. When I first laid down I didn’t understand it being on the firm side because it felt as if I sunk in and it was soft but as I laid there I began to understand the “firmness”. I heard complaints about the smell but honestly there was no smell at all with my mattress and it got to size within a few hours, though it says 11 inches mine is not 11 inches its about 9 1/2. I am very pleased it was well worth the money. It was delivered in 7 business days which was also nice since I was hearing complaints about slow delivery. I would definitely recommend this for people of weight.

Billy Knoth

Ordered a Nectar mattress a week ago and it still has not shipped. More transparency would be wonderful. Hopefully the mattress arrives by Tuesday which will be 10 days. If not, I will be updating this forum and I will be even more disappointed.

Robert Berger

We got our first King Nectar Mattress and it did not expand fully, especially at the top and bottom (Only 8″ at the bottom and 10″ max anywhere else). Nectar promptly sent another one. It did expand fully within a few hours.

But we’re finding it way too soft. I was surprised since most of the complaints have been that its too firm. But we both sink into it enough that it’s a bit tough to move around. And my wife’s back is hurting. She’s threatening to sleep on the floor tonite. Its been about a month since we have been sleeping on the properly expanded one.

I am about to contact Nectar to see what they have to say.

Replies

Jess RJ

Sorry to hear you’re having a negative experience. We’d love to hear how this issue is resolved.

John B

My wife and I tried Nectar for just over 30 days. We retuned it. I’m not one to write negative reviews, but feel this one is important. We felt the Nectar mattress outgassed far too long and far too much. While it started out as feeling comfortable, it quickly became less so and the motion transfer was noticeable after 3 weeks. It sagged and felt like it was hard to roll over within a two weeks. The cancellation and return process was terrible. It took over a month and I just now am getting my refund. While the idea of donating your mattress sounds good, it is not so easy as nearly zero charities want the liability. For us, giving away a king mattress was not easy. Nectar both questioned why (not cool when you claim no questions asked) and did not provide the option of having the mattress (which is very heavy) picked up until 4 emails into what became a overly complicated process of having to take pictures and fill out forms as well as having my new mattress company sign the form. I’m completely unhappy with my Nectar experience. If you had a star rating it would be a 1 or 2.

Randy allen

We received a king size mattress on August 30,2018.on sept1,we opened it and have let it do it’s thing,it has been 72hours like they say to let it fully expand the mattress has not fully expanded where we lay our heads and feet,so we’d be sleeping very uncomfortably with our necks!! Not happy and the smell from the off gassing is horrible and has not subsided at all it’s in a very ventilated room we would like some answers as to why these issues have not resolved yet, we paid almost 900$ and want answers ,please respond back to us nectar because it will be going back to your company if you cannot fix this problem!!

Replies

Jess RJ

Did you ever hear back from Nectar?

George

I ordered a mattress on 8/4/18 and it still hasn’t shipped. The only company initiated communication was my order confirmation on August 4th. It has taken numerous Emails to get a response, and they never answer the question of when is my mattress going to ship. You can reach someone on chat, but all they do is tell you a lie. 3 “absolute” ship dates have come and gone. They grab your money right upfront, however they don’t tell you they have no stock. Instead of living up to their website advertising, “order today delivery in 2-5 business days,” they deceive you and then provide you with no information. The latest chat lie for me is that my mattress will ship on 9/7/18, 49 days after it was ordered and they were paid. Don’t believe any of the Nectar website reviews, there is no way to even leave a review. Those are bogus, which explains all the 5 star reviews. This company operates like a scam, and what passes for customer service is pathetic.

George

I ordered a mattress on 8/4/18, the website said “order today delivery in 2-5 business days.” 26 days later and I have no idea if this will ever ship. Other than an order confirmation there has been no company initiated communication about my order. They grabbed my money immediately and never indicated it was out of stock and they had no idea when it would ship despite the 2-5 business day delivery advertising on the website. Instead, after multiple Email attempts and using their chat feature, 3 supposedly absolute ship dates came and went. Plain and simple, they lie. There is no way to leave a review on their website, so where are all those reviews coming from? You know, all those 5 star reviews? The only explanation is they are bogus. Be careful, this company has been a scam.

Replies

GEORGE

First off, other than the confirmation Email, Nectar has NEVER reached out to me with any information or status updates. You have to initiate the contact, and they are very slow to respond. Numerous times they told me my mattress would ship on 9/7, then it became 9/7-9/13, and now it is not before 9/20. Nectar clearly doesn’t have a clue, and they are not even remotely honest about it. I have been given so many ship dates its laughable. Nectar deserves to be sued. If I am lucky maybe it will arrive in time for Christmas.

Diana

What about using an adjustable base?

Steve C

You definitely need to say something about their incredibly SLOW ship times. It took 6 weeks to get the two I ordered. Very cheaply made. Was breaking down significantly after a month. Slept VERY hot, and had a very distinct foam/chemical smell. When we decided to return them, the nightmare continued. Took weeks to get them to pick them up and issue a refund. If it sounds too good to be true at this price, it’s because it is.

Replies

Tim Q

Exact opposite experience from SC. Received ours in 5 days (MN). No off-gassing, but it is on the (close to very IMO) firm side, so we will be returning. Customer service pre-purchase was top notch.

JessieJ

Jeesh Wish I would have saw this review before I bought mine. It’s like sleeping on a board for me. I was so excited I thought this would be the bed of my dreams. So disappointed.

Tom Mills

I am extremely impressed with the quality of this review. As engineer, I was pleased with the way you quantify your tests, for example with the firmness test and the thermal imaging. Thank you, i hope to see more of your reviews.

Mike

I purchased a Cal King but unfortunately, I am returning it due to it being way to firm. I am 5’10” 180 pounds. When I laid on it, I seriously thought I was laying on a piece of plywood. It is definitely a quality built mattress there is no doubt about that and has a very lucrative price point. However, if you are looking for that mattress that you fall into and it swallows you up and feels plush do not buy this. If you like firm then this is the mattress for you! I personally feel the firmness rating should be higher than a 7 more like a 9 to 10.

Liz Carey

too firm for me. laid awake on it….

Cathy Fields

Just wanted to caution you before you buy a Nectar. The first one I ordered did not fully expand. The middle expanded to 6″ but the head and foot expanded to 9″. I notified Nectar and they sent another. This one, after 3 weeks still has not expanded fully. It looks like a hammock. I am currently trying to get my money back but very little progress. Good luck if you buy.

Sue Strosky

I ordered the Nectar and it’s much too firm for me. I weigh 150 Lbs. I can’t seem to find a review that offers a medium to medium soft firmness. Can you help?!

Amy Nuckols

I just ordered a twin bed to see if i can sleep on it, if i can, i will order a larger size. Thank you for your review, it was very helpful. I’m one of those people that have pressure points on shoulders, hips and knees and hoping this mattress gets me back into a bed. will update .

PainMkr

Thank you for this in depth, honest review.

Replies

mike hohmann

If you like Firm then this is the mattress for you. I posted a review of my experience on here and they didn’t approve it. So I I am guessing they don’t want honest feedback from people that have actually tried the product. I am sure they are compensated for swaying their opinions to favor the companies they review.

Replies

Lynne Sciandro

What was your review? My husband and I are not small people and he has a bad back. We have been mattress shopping for almost a year. We have tried all the Saatva and Loom and Leaf and none of them were comfortable for him. Please let me know what you honestly thought of this mattress

Sharon Gibson

Greatly appreciate the in depth review.

Replies

Cathy

Sharon, just wanted to caution you before you buy a Nectar. The first one I ordered did not fully expand. The middle expanded to 6″ but the head and foot expanded to 9″. I notified Nectar and they sent another. This one, after 3 weeks still has not expanded fully. It looks like a hammock. I am currently trying to get my money back but very little progress. Good luck if you buy.

Larry

I ordered my queen-size nectar mattress last Sunday (2/25/18) and was told it would arrive the following Friday and it did. I couldn’t be happier with the tracking system that always kept me apprised of its journey to my house. In five days (3/2/18) it was on my front porch. Perhaps there weresome delivery problems in the past , but if I’m any example, Nectar has fine-tuned it’s delivery system and the glitches have been resolved.

Unpacking the mattress was a breeze and it was bed-ready on top of my box spring in ten minutes.

I have never had a better mattress than this one!

mae dea

Well, Nectar has me in a tight spot. They only allow positive comments on their website so I have little recourse as a consumer. Lots about their long delivery times and poor customer service on various you tube type sites.

Mattress arrived a few weeks after ordering. Just in time for out of town house guests. It turned out to be defective with large concave depression in the center. Took 24 hours for customer service to respond to my emails and calls. When they did respond, they had me jumping through hoops and kept changing the hoops. For example, they wanted four pictures of the defect and one of the label. Then they asked me to get a ruler and show the indentation. I don’t have a rigid six foot ruler to do that. Also, I am a 73 y.o. grama and not that tech savvy so getting pix from my phone to Nectar email not that easy.So I’m stuck!!!! Very unhappy with Nectar and have asked my credit card company to start dispute of charges process. Now I should send my house guests to hotel???? Big savings!

Kristi McDaniel

I received my Nectar mattress 9 days ago and it has HEAVY off gassing. I have it well ventilated and the odor has dissipated some, but he mattress still has a strong odor. Because of this I am unable to test the bed for comfort. I was told to wait another week. I have read MANY reviews and NONE of them mention how bad the off gassing is, I am truly disappointed. I haven’t had a bed to sleep on since Novembers 29th. Any suggestions?

Replies

Sarah J

I am dealing with the same issue! Im at week six and still have the musty heavy odor. Im trying baking soda and frequent washing of my bedding. The customer service line for Nectar had no added advice. I dont want to return it because I sleep so well but if it doesnt improve I will be returing my mattress.

Lori

I forgot to ask on last question. I wanted to understand specific measurements for a queen size mattress. Especially, the pocket size to buy sheets. Thank you for the dimensions.

Lori

Thank you for your review. I was wanting to look at exact dimensions, especially the pocket size to buy sheets. Can you please provide? Lori

Dave

The mattresses are good, but the shipping times are atrocious. It will take 30 days or more before they will ship, and then add 4 or 5 days for the shipping itself.

Replies

Radiah S

Well I ordered mines last Saturday and it says takes up to 3 business days to ship, a week later I am currently on hold now waiting to speak with someone about my order being shipped.

David Nolder

I ordered mattress just over 2 weeks ago and had mattress in my house in 4 days

Replies

Kim

Me too. I received mine in less than a week.

Carly Swan

Would this be too firm for a 250 lb single sleeper?
Also,does Nectar have a Canadian distributor?

Replies

Kim

It’s perfect for that weight. I’m approximately the same weight s you and I’m very pleased.

Replies

Jess RJ

So glad to help!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

0

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.